athene® Training and User Forum

Register Button Troubleshooting checklist
August 24, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST

athene® is designed to be robust, self-managing and autonomous, but with the best will in the world, things go wrong.
There is much information available to help you examine issues and determine likely causes, if you know where to look.

This session will show you around the some of the easily accessible sources of information about what athene® and Acquires are doing, and give you an insight into the Metron Support team’s approach on closing in on issues and diagnosing their likely origin with topics of:
  • Where are the log files - looking for issues with Control Center, Portal and the new JS component
  • Working through log files - closing in on issues and raising better Support calls
  • Scheduled tasks - looking at issues in Automatic Reporting and Data Management
  • Data capture – looking at the evidence, picking what to send us, trace management

Register Button NetApp Capture Pack
September 7, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST

The NetApp Capture Pack for athene® has been updated. Due to changes in the latest versions of OCUM and OCPM, the methods used to collect data for NetApp systems have changed. The NetApp Capture Pack is now using the Integrator Database connectivity. In this session we’ll go through how to setup the latest NetApp Capture Pack, to collect data from the OCUM/OVPM database.

Topics include:
  • Configuring the MySQL stored procedure
  • Importing Integrator Templates
  • Testing Integrator Database Templates
  • Creating Integrator Targets to capture NetApp data

Register Button Creating your own Capture Pack
September 21, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST

Integrator enables any time series data to be imported into the athene® database. Sources of data can be from any area that will provide value to the capacity management process. Examples sources are business, transactions, network, storage, etc. Metron has predefined Capture Pack for common data sources, that allow data capture to be quickly and easily configured. If a Capture Pack does not exist for the desired data source, users can create their own.

A Capture pack always contains Integrator templates for importing data. Metron Capture Packs also contain instructions for configuring data capture, and possibly a pre-processing script to reformat data. Users can create the same content themselves for virtually any data source by following the same creation guidelines. This session covers the basic steps for getting any times series data into athene®, using the same steps we use to create Capture Packs.

Topics include:
  • What is a Capture Pack?
  • Getting the Data
  • Integrator Methods for Import
  • Preprocessing for File Templates

VMware Data Capture          Registration available soon
October 5, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST

Summary available soon

IIS and Web Portal Setup          Registration available soon
October 19, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST

Summary available soon

athene® and Office Integration          Registration available soon
November 2, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST

Integration is a topic that works both ways. In recent years athene® has gained the ability to import data from many types of sources. But athene® also has the ability to export data and reports in many formats. One of the ways athene® can export data is to produce Word and Excel files on an automated basis. This TUF will run through how to setup athene® to create Word and Excel files.

Topics will include:
  • athene® scheduler
  • “Template” Office files
  • Setting up E-mail SMTP
  • Running Macros
  • “Loopback” to feed athene® integrator

Automatic Reporting          Registration available soon
November 30, 2017 - 8am PT,  9am MT,  10am CT,  11am ET, 4pm UK, 5pm CET

Summary available soon

APR and Trend End Dates          Registration available soon
December 14, 2017 - 8am PT,  9am MT,  10am CT,  11am ET, 4pm UK, 5pm CET

While we are encouraging you to adopt usage of the athene® interactive portal, APR reporting isn’t going away. Several versions ago we introduced the “Trend End Date” column to APR Bulletins. In this session we’ll describe what the “Trend End Date” is, and how you can configure it in existing and new bulletins.

Topics will include:
  • Basic APR configuration
  • Bulletin Settings for “Trend End Date”
  • Example Usage
  • Equivalent view in Service View Dashboards