Live Webinars

Register Button Top 5 VMware Tips for Performance and Capacity
July 19, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT,  4pm UK,  5pm CEST

For most enterprizes VMware has been a production platform for a number of years. Over time, as VMware ESXi, and hardware have improved, more critical and performance sensitive applications have been moved onto VMware platforms than ever before. As both the size and importance of VMware to the business has grown, so have the performance and capacity concerns around the VMware platform. In this session we’ll be discussing the top 5 VMware performance and capacity concerns that our clients discuss with us, and the things you can do to keep on top of them.

Topic areas will include:
  • Dangers with OS metrics
  • VM CPU Performance
  • Storage Performance
  • Monitoring Memory
  • Trending Clusters

Register ButtonCapacity Management Maturity Series (3) – Defined to Managed
August 16, 2017 - 8am PT,  9am MT,  10am CT,  11am ET,  4pm UK,  5pm CEST

Summary available soon

Top 5 z System Capacity Issues           (Registration available soon)
September 14, 2017 - 8am PT,  9am MT,  10am CT,  11am ET,  4pm UK,  5pm CEST

Summary available soon

Register ButtonCapacity Management Maturity Series (4) – Managed to Optimized
October 11, 2017 - 8am PDT,  9am MDT,  10am CDT,  11am EDT,  4pm UK,  5pm CEST

Summary available soon

Changing Landscape of Capacity Management for the Mainframe          (Registration available soon)
November 15, 2017 - 8am PT,  9am MT,  10am CT,  11am ET,  4pm UK,  5pm CET

Many years, the discussion of CM was on the back burner as it was a mature platform. As things change they stay the same and need to continue to evolve. The mainframe continues to be an integral cog in an enterprises IT environment. This leads to the continue evolution of Capacity Management as it relates to the mainframe. Organizations have begun to review, evolve and mature the CM process to keep up with the demands for today. The mainframe is involved in applications and services that now include the Cloud and hyper-converged technologies. To make CM for the mainframe more business centric, there must be a move away from the component view to Service and Business.

This presentation will cover the following topics:
  • CM for the mainframe in the past – strengths and weaknesses
  • Why organizations are reviewing CM and their current tools
  • What changes in scope and processes require a philosophy change
  • Incorporation of Business and Service views
  • Plans and addressing new technologies

Capacity Management Maturity Webinar Series
  1. Initial to Repeatable
  2. Repeatable to Defined
  3. Defined to Managed
  4. Managed to Optimized
What is CMMI and why use it?
The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a program that was developed by Carnegie Mellon University to help improve processes. It comprises of 5 levels of maturity and can be adapted to suit any business process, including of course Capacity Management.

We at Metron have adapted this model specifically for the Capacity Management process and grade existing processes based on the following 5 levels:
  1. Initial
  2. Repeatable
  3. Defined
  4. Managed
  5. Optimized
How do we grade the process?
Using our expertise and knowledge in Capacity Management, our consultants use a combination of self-answered maturity survey questionnaires in combination with performing a Gap Analysis. A Gap Analysis consists of on-site interviews with key service stakeholders to produce a formal but very detailed report determining existing gaps, identifying the current process maturity level but also provides a series of “next steps” to help mature the process to the next level or levels.

This webinar series will take you through what constitutes being graded at each level and the steps required to get to the next maturity level.